Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca: Dalziel, Zogaib Earn First Career Rolex Series Victory
Page: 1  2   3  Links
Dalziel, Zogaib Earn First Career Rolex Series Victory in Saturday's 250 at Laguna Seca

SAMAX Scores first Rolex Series team win; Edwards, Collins take Rolex Series GT triumph

MONTEREY, Calif. (May 17, 2008) - Ryan Dalziel took the lead from Scott Pruett on a three-wide pass on Lap 76 of the 98-lap 250 on Saturday at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and held off Marc Goossens by 1.504 seconds to give himself, co-driver Henri Zogaib and SAMAX their first Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 victory. The race will be televised on SPEED at noon ET Sunday.

While Dalziel led the final 23 laps, he had one close call late in the race. Following a restart with 15 minutes remaining, Goossens managed to pull alongside the Scotsman as the pair approached the famed Corkscrew turn. Both cars, as did the car driven by point co-leader and third-place runner Scott Pruett, went through the gravel before reentering the track - all three managing to maintain control - with Dalziel holding the lead at the exit of the fast downhill corner.

Dalziel gave the No. 2 SAMAX BMW Riley its first Rolex Series Daytona Prototype victory after three runner-up finishes. Zogaib started the car 17th before turning to over to Dalziel 14 laps into the race, and once in front, Dalziel never fell from the top position. Goossens and Jim Matthews were seeking their second victory of the season in the No. 91 Bob Stallings Racing/Riley-Matthews Motorsports Pontiac Riley, as the pair won the Mexico City 250.

Pruett, seeking his fourth victory of the season in the No. 01 TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Lexus Riley started by Memo Rojas, had taken the lead from Cristiano da Matta on a restart following a caution for a fire that damaged Matt Plumb's No. 7 Rum Bum Racing BMW Riley. Moments later, Goossens made his move on Pruett. Dalziel, seeing his opportunity, went by on to take the lead, although was pressured by Goossens for the remainder of the race.

Pruett and Rojas finished third and left the race with a 19-point advantage (167-148) over Goossens and Matthews. Following in fourth was the No. 99 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing Pontiac Riley of Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney, and fifth was the No. 58 Brumos Porsche Riley of polesitter David Donohue and Darren Law. Donohue led a race-high 27 circuits.

Michael Valiante also led early in the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Pontiac Riley, which he turned over to Angelelli on a pit stop. The No. 23 Ruby Tuesday Porsche Crawford of Bill Auberlen and the No. 7 Rum Bum Racing BMW Riley of Plumb were side-by-side exiting the pits, and Angelelli pulled from his pit stall into the side of Auberlen, causing minor bodywork damage on both cars. The SunTrust and Ruby Tuesday cars served drive-through penalties following the incident.

Da Matta made his return to professional racing in the No. 98 GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing GAINSCO Auto Insurance Pontiac Riley, and led 10 laps after taking control of the car from co-driver Jimmy Vasser. However, the duo retired after completing 83 laps.

Eight cautions - all for cars off the track - slowed the race's overall average speed to 79.559 mph.

Edwards, Collins Take Rolex Series GT Win in Final Laps

In GT, Paul Edwards took advantage of a miscue by Sylvain Tremblay on the next-to-last lap and gave himself, co-driver Kelly Collins and the No. 07 Banner Racing Banner Engineering Pontiac GXP.R their second Rolex Series GT triumph of the 2008 season.
Tremblaytook the lead into Lap 96 before getting off the track in the Corkscrew. He returned to the track, but couldn't hold off a charging Edwards, who completed the pass in Turn 9 and held onto a 1.131-second advantage over Spencer Pumpelly. Edwards and Collins - who collected Pontiac's fourth consecutive GT triumph - also extended their Rolex Series GT point lead by nine over Pumpelly and No. 67 TRG Porsche GT3 co-driver Tim George Jr. (154-145).

Tremblay and co-d
  Next Page >>