Telmex Takes DP Win; SpeedSource #69 Takes GT Win
Page: 1  2   3  Links
Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas scored their fourth Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Daytona Prototype victory of the season Saturday at Watkins Glen International, capturing the 27th running of the Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen.

Pruett, who ran the final three hours in the No. 01 TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Lexus Riley in temperatures in excess of 90 degrees Fahrenheit, took the lead from Ricardo Zonta with 45 minutes remaining in the event when Zonta pitted for his final pit stop. He came away with a 3.033-second margin of victory over 2003 race co-winner David Donohue in the No. 58 Brumos Racing Porsche Riley.

Pruett also won the event in 2004, the same season he and Max Papis won the Daytona Prototype title. Three of the last four Sahlen's Six Hours winners have gone on to claim the championship. Pruett and Rojas - who started 16th after an abbreviated qualifying session Friday - now have a 36-point advantage over Marc Goossens and Jim Matthews in the standings.

Overall, Pruett led a race-high 39 of the 179 laps, including the final 24. Fourteen drivers traded the lead 20 times.

Donohue and co-driver Darren Law finished a season-best second after starting from the fourth position. Polesitter Max Angelelli and co-driver Michael Valiante finished a season-best third in the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Pontiac Riley, just 19 days after the team lost its primary car, transporter and equipment in a fire along a Texas highway. Angelelli led the first lap and Valiante also led six laps.

Oswaldo Negri and Mark Patterson finished fourth in the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing Ford Riley, while Memo Gidley and Brad Jaeger posted the team's season-best finish of fifth in the No. 77 Doran Racing Kodak Ford Dallara. The top four finishers all competed in cars powered by different engine manufacturers.

Segal, Assentato and Longhi Garner Initial Rolex Series Victory

In GT, class polesitter Jeff Segal passed Paul Edwards with 33 minutes remaining to give him and co-drivers Emil Assentato and Nick Longhi their first career Rolex Series victories. It marked the first victory for a Mazda-powered car in the series since the season-opening Rolex 24 At Daytona, where the trio's SpeedSource teammates won North America's premiere sports car racing endurance race.

Segal, driving the No. 69 SpeedSource FXDD Mazda RX-8, won by 5.817 seconds over Robin Liddell, who co-drove with Andrew Davis in the No. 57 Stevenson Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R.

Third were class point leaders Edwards and Kelly Collins in the No. 07 Banner Racing Pontiac GXP.R, followed by Lawson Aschenbach and Tim Lewis Jr. in the No. 72 Autohaus Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R and Kevin O'Connell and Kevin Roush in the No. 27 O'Connell Racing Porsche GT3.

Nine cautions for 27 laps slowed the winner's average speed to 101.018 mph.

The Grand-Am Rolex Series will continue with the EMCO Gears Classic on June 21 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course in Lexington, Ohio. The race will be televised live on SPEED at 5 p.m. ET.

  Next Page >>