Pruett, Rolex Earn Share Of Rolex Series Championship Lead With Sahlen's Six Hours Win
Page: 1  2   3  Links
WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (June 6, 2009) - Defending Daytona Prototype champions Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas were still vying for their first victory of 2009 entering Saturday's Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen, running fourth, 14 points behind in the standings.

But that changed in the second-longest race on the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 schedule, with the duo cruising to victory and taking a share of the championship lead at Watkins Glen International in the No. 01 TELMEX Lexus Riley fielded by Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates.

It was the team's third victory in the event - and both prior times Pruett went on to capture the Daytona Prototype title, in 2004 (with Max Papis) and 2008. They dominated the event, leading 142 of the 188 laps on the 3.4-mile circuit - including the final 35 laps.

The point lead also changed in the Acxiom GT class, with Dirk Werner and Leh Keen winning their second race of the 2009 campaign in the No. 87 Farnbacher Loles Racing Porsche GT3.

"The championship is back to being a nail-biter," said Pruett, who scored his series-extending 20th Daytona Prototype victory. "It's going to be a fight with the SunTrust, GAINSCO and Penske teams. There are a lot of guys in the mix and a lot of exciting racing going on. It's going to go down to the wire at Homestead-Miami Speedway."

Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty entered the event with an eight-point lead, but had a frustrating day. Gurney needed four pit stops early in the race while the team worked on handling problems on the No. 99 GAINSCO Pontiac Riley, which dropped them to 16th - four laps down. The pair battled to get back on the lead lap. Fogarty was running sixth with two hours remaining when he tangled with Rolex 24 winner David Donohue in Turn 8, spinning into a gravel trap and retiring with floorboard damage resulting from the car being towed from the trap.

"It was just an all-around forgettable day," Gurney said. "We were reasonably competitive and thinking about the championship we just had a lot of things go wrong today. We were running fifth and we were in good shape - it was just unfortunate."

Max Angelelli and Brian Frisselle finished second in the No. 10 SunTrust Ford Dallara, moving into a tie for the title with the Ganassi duo; all four drivers have 140 points. Timo Bernard and Romain Dumas finished third in the No. 12 Verizon Wireless Porsche Riley, tying Gurney and Fogarty for third in the standings - six points behind the leaders with 134.
  Next Page >>