Ganassi Brings Grand-Am Rolex Series Point Lead, Win Streak, Two Cars to Daytona
Page: 1  2  Links
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (July 1, 2009) - TELMEX Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates brings plenty of momentum to Daytona International Speedway for Saturday's Brumos Porsche 250, Round 7 of 12 of the 2009 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 season.

The 70-lap, 250-mile race, with a two-hour and 20-minute time limit, takes the green flag at 2 p.m. ET (SPEED, live), followed by the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coke Zero 400 at 8 p.m.

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas are coming off back-to-back victories in the No. 01 TELMEX Lexus Riley, taking sole possession of the Daytona Prototype championship lead.

Ganassi Racing has also entered a second car for the Brumos Porsche 250, the No. 02 Waste Management Lexus Riley for NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regulars Kyle Busch and Scott Speed - who will both make their Grand-Am debuts. Busch will be doing triple duty, running in Friday's NASCAR Nationwide Series race in addition to Saturday evening's Coke Zero 400.

"It's going to be interesting having the two different races on the same day, and it's going to be a big challenge for both of us coming from a car that has a lot of grip and doing a lot of turning to going to the stock car, where we'll be keeping it flat out and drafting all night," said Speed, a veteran of 28 Formula One Grand Prix races before moving over to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series in 2008. "Hopefully, we will be good enough to challenge for the win. At the end of the day, that's what we're going there to do."

Pruett won the 2008 Brumos Porsche 250 in dramatic fashion, passing Alex Gurney in the closing yards in what was then the closest finish in Rolex Series history. Gurney and Jon Fogarty are two-time winners this season in the No. 99 GAINSCO Pontiac Riley, and trail Pruett and Rojas by 11 points (175-164).

Also part of the championship scramble are SunTrust Racing's Brian Frisselle and Max Angelelli - one point behind the GAINSCO duo, while another point back are Penske Racing's Romain Dumas and Timo Bernhard. Both teams are looking for their first victory of the season.

Fifth in the points are 2009 Rolex 24 At Daytona winners David Donohue and Darren Law, co-drivers of the No. 58 Brumos Porsche Riley.

Antonio Garcia and 2004 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Rice also were part of Brumos' winning lineup from the Rolex 24. They will be reunited for the Brumos Porsche 250, co-driving the No. 90 Spirit of Daytona Racing Porsche Coyote.
  Next Page >>