Page: 1  2  Links
HOMESTEAD, FL - October 5, 2009 -- The Acxiom GT class triple crown of championships will be within reach of Porsche Motorsport customer teams during the Grand-Am Rolex
Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 season finale on Saturday Oct. 10 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Saturday's two-hour, 45-minute race takes the green flag at 1:08 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on SPEED. Live timing and scoring, notes and results will be available on
www.grand-am.com, with regular updates also posted on www.twitter.com/RolexSeries. The race is part of the NextEra Energy Resources SPEEDJAM Championships, also featuring the series-crowning finales of the Firestone Indy Lights and the IndyCar Series.

Leh Keen (Charleston, SC) and Dirk Werner (Germany) can clinch the GT Driver's
championship simply by keeping their #87 Farnbacher Loles Porsche 911 GT3 Cup on the track so each driver completes the mandatory 30 minutes to earn points. They enter the
finale with a 30-point lead over #07 Pontiac GXP.R driver Kelly Collins, with only 35 points available to the winner.

The #87 Farnbacher Loles Porsche leads the GT Team championship standings by 29 points over the #57 Stevenson Motorsports Pontiac GXP.R. And, thanks to significant contributions
from TRG driver Andy Lally (Dacula, GA), Porsche leads the GT Manufacturers championship standings by 23 points over Pontiac. With such solid points leads, Porsche is favored to win all three GT championships.

Things aren't so favorable for Porsche teams in Daytona Prototype competition.

Porsche works drivers Timo Bernhard (Germany) and Romain Dumas (France) still have a mathematical chance at the DP title, but it is a real long shot as the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Cars Series brings the second-closest points battle in series history to Homestead-Miami to crown a Champion.

Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty of the #99Gainsco/Bob Stallings Racing Pontiac Riley hold an eight-point lead (309-301) over #10 SunTrust Racing Ford Dallara drivers Max Angelelli and Brian Frisselle. Third place belongs to #01 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Lexus Riley co-drivers Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, who sit 10 points back of the leaders.

Gurney and Fogarty, who captured the 2007 crown by a slim two-point margin, lead the 2009 series with four victories - matching the win total of Keen and Werner. The duo can clinch its second championship with a fourth-place or better finish.
  Next Page >>