Five Porsche Factory Drivers top podium At 78th le mans as reliability
Page: 1  2   3  Links

Stuttgart/Atlanta - June 13 --  The success story of the 2010 Porsche 911 GT3 RSR race continues at the 78 running of the 24 Hours of Le Mans  as factory drivers Marc Lieb (Germany), Richard Lietz (Austria) and Wolf Henzler (Germany) piloted their German Felbermayr-Proton Porsche to a two-lap GT2 win over the second-place Ferrari earlier today.

Two other Porsche factory drivers Timo Bernhard (Germany) and Romain Dumas (France) - on loan from Porsche to Audi's factory prototype effort -  helped lead Audi's sweep of the overall podium. They drove with former Porsche factory pilot Mike Rockenfeller (Germany) to a one-lap victory in their Audi R15 TDI.  All six LMP1 and GT2-winning drivers have either victories or championships in the American Le Mans Series as well.

As for the worldwide performance of the Porsche 911 GT3 RSR so far this year, the car that won the 24 hour race in Dubai and holds the championship lead of the Le Mans Series (Europe) and the American Le Mans Series, and was the most successful GT race car of 2009 has now won the GT2 class of the Le Mans 24 hour race.

This victory at Le Mans marks the 98th win (class and overall) for Porsche at the prestigious long distance classic. For the ninth time, a race car based on the street legal 911 GT3 prevailed over its rivals. Positions three, five, seven and eight also went to drivers of the 450 hp Porsche. Moreover, the winning 911 also clinched the environmental "Michelin Green X Challenge" award as the GT car with the best efficiency.

The basis for Porsche's success was this year again the reliability of the 911 GT3 RSR. Refueling, new tires, driver changes - the team mechanics of had nothing more to do from start to finish.

"Pivotal for victory was that we had no technical problems and spent the least amount of time in the pits. This win was a team effort," said Marc Lieb, who celebrated his third Porsche GT2 win in Le Mans, finishing first in 2005 and 2006. Richard Lietz took home the coveted winners' trophy for the second time his victory in 2007.

Porsche's success is even more credible due to the fact that the 78th edition of the 24 hour

race was one of the toughest in the history of the classic. The GT2 class in particular was excellently supported and fiercely contested with seven manufacturers and 18

  Next Page >>