Grand-Am Rolex racing Sports car series returns To homestead-miami
Page:  1  2  3  Links
both the Daytona Prototype and production-based GT classes. The championship's point structure and purse will be announced in the near future. Awards for the series will be awarded at dusk on the Victory Podium at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, following the historic race on the 2.605-mile road course.

In addition to featuring GRAND-AM's solid lineup in both classes, several top teams have indicated they will field additional cars with all-star drivers to compete in the three endurance races.

"I think the North American Endurance Championship adds more excitement to an already exciting schedule," said four-time Rolex Series Daytona Prototype champion Scott Pruett. "The Rolex 24 is clearly the highlight of our season, and I'm very excited with the addition of Indianapolis. The new championship gives further emphasis on our three endurance races."

The Rolex Series will also run with the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide Series at Watkins Glen International, and with the NASCAR Nationwide Series at Road America and Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. Two Rolex Series events will be in companion with IndyCar, at Detroit and Barber.

Following the season-opening events at Daytona and Barber, the Rolex Series moves to Homestead-Miami Speedway, followed by a visit to New Jersey Motorsports Park. Following the Detroit Belle Isle race, the series returns to Mid-Ohio Sports Car Cars on June 9. In addition, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca's event shifts to September.

The Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge will run in conjunction with the Rolex Series at 10 of the 13 weekends, including Indianapolis.

The potential season-ending events for both series are still to be announced.

The Grand Prix of Miami debuted in the spring of 1983 and was long a fixture as the second major sports car event of the season following the Rolex 24 At Daytona (again the case in 2011). The event was held in Miami's Bayfront Park before moving to Homestead-Miami Speedway in 1995. GRAND-AM began sanctioning the event in 2000.

Drivers who have competed in the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series include NASCAR Champions Jimmie Johnson and Kurt Busch; IndyCar Champions Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon; South Florida-residents Juan Pablo Montoya (NASCAR Sprint Cup Series star) and Helio Castroneves (three-time Indy 500

<< Previous Page   Next Page >>